International Adult and Continuing Education Hall of Fame
European Chapter (HOFE)


The International Adult and Continuing Education Hall of Fame honors outstanding leaders in the fields of adult learning and continuing education who are distinguished as a scholar, practitioner, or policy-maker.

The Hall serves as a record of inspiration for the next generation of adult and continuing education leaders.

To be eligible for induction into the Hall of Fame, a person must be eminently distinguished in the profession, shall have brought honor or distinction, and shall have contributed to the heritage of adult and continuing education.

Annually, around ten adult and continuing education leaders from around the world are selected for induction into the International Adult and Continuing Education Hall of Fame. These individuals reflect the great diversity of adult and continuing education practice and scholarship and the increasingly global leadership community that constitutes the IACE Hall of Fame.

The nomination round for 2023 is now closed!
The next induction will be held with the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) in Lexington, Kentucky, US.
Induction date: October 3-6, 2023.

On this page we supply additional information about and for members of the Hall of Fame specificly in the European region.

Our next in-person International Adult and Continuing Education Hall of Fame
European Chapter (HOFE) meeting
will be held at the Moldova State University on November 9, 2023, in conjunction with "The Sixth International Conference On Adult Education - Education for Peace and Sustainable Development” organised by the Universitas University Consortium, in cooperation with the IACEHOF and DVV International Moldova.
Please note that the deadline for registration and abstract submission is June 30, 2023.
All the necessary information is available on the conference website:
Looking forward to meet you all in Moldova!


Our virtual meeting on Thursday, 2 March 2023:

November 2022: Survey and contributions of HOFE-Members:

Year of induction, work status, organisational background, involvement in the international umbrella organisation, involvement of HOFE members in the work of IACE Hall of Fame, contributing to the HOFE Network, specific areas of expertise,comments and suggestion for the HOFE. For the .pdf

Members of the Hall-of-Fame at the
tenth anniversary of Adult Education Academy in Würzburg (Germany)

"This is a model of success” the president of Würzburg University (Germany) praised the “Adult Education Academy” at the celebration of the ten years of this program (program-information)). It was founded and is directed by HOF-member Regina Egetenmeyer (HOF 2019) for international master and doctoral students and practitioners with partner universities in Hungary, Italy, India, Nigeria, Portugal, Serbia, and Slovenia. More than 700 doctoral and master students and practitioners, coming from 49 different countries, participated in the ten years.
Hall-of-Fame-member Prof. Rita Süssmuth (HOF 2006), former President of the German Parliament, delivered the keynote. Several HOF-members have been teaching in the AEA like Arne Carlsen (HOF 2017), Gina Ebner(HOF 2019), Regina Egetenmeyer (HOF 2019), Heribert Hinzen (HOF 2006), Licínio Lima (HOF 2022), Balázs Németh (HOF 2018), Mike Osborne (HOF 2022), Séamus O´Tuama (HOF 2022), Katarina Popovic (HOF 2011), Jost Reischmann (HOF 1999), Sabine Schmidt-Lauff (HOF 2022), Maria Slowey (HOF 2015), Alan Tuckett (HOF 2006), or Raul Valdes-Cotera (HOF 2022).

HOF-members at the anniversary in Würzburg left to right: Heribert Hinzen, Sabine Schmidt-Lauff,
Rita Süssmuth, Regina Egetenmeyer-Neher, Jost Reischmann, Séamus O’Tuama. Not in the photo: Balázs Németh

HOF-members at Singapores Global Lifelong Learning Summit

Singapore hosted its first Global Lifelong Learning Summit on 1-2 November 2022. Organised by the Institute for Adult Learning, Singapore University of Social Sciences and SkillsFuture Singapore, and in partnership with the ASEM Lifelong Learning Hub, the UNESCO Institute for Lifelong Learning, the ILO and the OECD, the Summit attracted around 700 participants. The topic centered on lifelong learnin (HOF 2015)g as a key enabler to impact lives and maintain employability. Lifelong learning requires an eco-system of learners, institutions, enterprises and Government to work in concert. What collaborative models across these stakeholders are most effective? What needs to change to ensure that the socio-economic impact of lifelong learning is maximized?
The first session on Global Experiences in Lifelong Learning Policy Development and Implementation was moderated by Raul Valdes Cotera (HOF 2022), and session four on the ASEM Lifelong Hub – Enabling Capital for Lifelong Learners, was moderated by Séamus O’Tuama (HOF 2022). Further two HOF members participated, Wing On Lee (HOF 2022), and Arne Carlsen (HOF 2017). Three ministers delivered keynotes, and important messages on impact were formulated by the partner organisations. A ministerial panel discussion on A Future-Ready Lifelong Learning Ecosystem concluded the Summit. Singapore plans to hold such Global Lifelong Learning Summits every two years.

from left to right: Prof. Wing On Lee, (Singapore, HOF 2022), Executive Director of the Institute for Adult Learning, Singapore University of Social Sciences; Dir Séamus O’Tuama (Ireland, HOF 2022), Chair of the ASEM Lifelong Learning Hub, Prof.(H) Arne Carlsen (Denmark, HOF 2017), Chair of the Expert Review Panel, Workforce Development Applied Research Fund, SkillsFuture Singapore; Teamleader Raul Valdes Cotera (Mexico, HOF 2022), coordinator of the UNESCO Global Network of Learning Cities.

Another Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony in Europe (after Bamberg 2006, Budapest 2008, Iasi 2014, and Belgrade 2019) took place September 28, 2022 in Cork, Ireland!

The new inductees: Names from left to right:
Front row: Mejai Avoseh (USA) - Larissa Jogi (Estonia) - Laura Bierema (USA) - Michael Osborne (UK) - Nancy Taber (Canada) - Wing On Lee (Singapore) - Linda Morris (USA) - Raul Valdes Cotera (Mexico)
Back row: Niamh O'Reilly (Ireland)- representative of AONTAS - Sabine Schmidt-Lauff (Germany) - Licinio Lima (Portugal) - Andras Benedek (Hungary) - Rolf Arnold (Germany) - Darlene Clover (Canada) - Daphne Ntiri (USA) - Robert Mizzi (Canada) - Seamus O'Tuama (Ireland) - Per Paludan Hansen (Denmark)
More information abut the event   and the program


HandHomepage International-HOF
zum SeitenanfangBack to top of page

Since April 1, 2015 we had
visitors to this page.